Latest News and Updates


TAYO names top youth groups

Philippine Star
December 19, 2010

MANILA, Philippines – President Aquino recognized the winners of the 8th Search for the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO) in ceremonies at the Heroes Hall in Malacañang recently.

President Aquino was assisted by Sen. Kiko Pangilinan, TAYO Awards Foundation president Paolo Benigno “Bam”Aquino, National Youth Commission chairman Christopher Arnuco and Guillermo Aponte, president and general manager of the Coca-Cola Export Corp.

This year’s winners have come up with innovative approaches to promote education for all, solve gang wars, spread computer literacy programs, food security and self-sufficiency programs and poverty alleviation and community empowerment.

Representatives of the organizations faced a formidable panel of judges, co-chaired by Bam Aquino and Sen. Pangilinan. Other members were Sec. Herminio Coloma, Wally Panganiban of the Coca-Cola Export Co., Eric Barraquillo of the Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI), Sebastian Lacson of the Aboitiz Foundation, Ivy Lisa Mendoza of the Manila Bulletin, Meryll Yan of Mega magazine, Stefanie Cabal of the Philippine Daily Inquirer 2BU!, Manny de Luna of ActivAsia and Champ Lui Pio, former frontman of the band Hale.

Winners of the TAYO Award received P50,000 cash grants from the Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines and trophies specially crafted by artist Toym de Leon Imao. The winning groups also received gift certificates from Jollibee.

The following special awards were also given: Coke Barkada award from Coca-Cola Foundation; Best Financially Managed Organization award from BPI; TeaM Energy award for protection of the environment; three Gawad Kabataan Agri-Pinoy awards from the Department of Agriculture (DA); and two special awards from the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD).

This program is organized by the TAYO Awards Foundation, office of Senator Kiko Pangilinan and the National Youth Commission. TAYO is presented by Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines, Inc. and is supported by TeaM Energy Foundation, the Philippine Gaming Corp. (PAGCOR), DSWD, DA, BPI, Jollibee and the Philippine Center of Young Leaders in Governance.

This year’s winning organizations are:

• Pro Drop-out Reduction Program, Surigao del Sur

• Mandaya Tribal Youth Organization, Mebatas, Upper Ulip, Monkayo, Compostela Valley

• Pag-asa Youth Association, Talisay City chapter, Cebu

• Pagaypay 4-H Club, Barangay Pagaypay, Passi City, Iloilo

• Link.Exe West Visayas State University, Iloilo City

• Brotherhood for Peace, Baguio City

• Education Revolution Movement, Sta. Maria, Bulacan

• Pochon and Maanichar Centennial Batch Association, Inc., Ifugao Province

• Alay ni Ignacio, Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City

• Philippine Stagers Foundation, Balic-Balic, Manila.


adminTAYO names top youth groups
Share this post

Related Posts